Geo-Risk 2017

Denver, Colorado | June 4-7, 2017



Created by ASCE in October 1996, the Geo-Institute (G-I) combines the talents and perspectives of its members to promote the geotechnical profession and enhance career development through specialty conferences, journals and practice-oriented publications, educational programs, networking and coalition building, technical committees and task forces and leadership on emerging issues. The 12,100 members and 63 organizational members of G-I include scientists, engineers, technologists and organizations interested in improving the environment, mitigating natural hazards, and constructing economically engineered facilities.

Geo-Risk 2017 Conference

The theme of Geo-Risk 2017 is “Geotechnical Risk from Theory to Practice” and will feature the latest research advances and engineering-practice innovations with a focus on the use of probabilistic and risk methodologies in geotechnical engineering. The conference will include a wide range of knowledge-enhancing technical sessions, short courses, and software demonstrations. Several hundred U.S. and international participants from industry, academia, and government agencies are expected to attend.

This conference is the first specialty conference offered by the ASCE on geotechnical risk since Geo-Risk 2011 in Atlanta. It will also be the 6th offering of the International Symposium on Geotechnical Safety and Risk (ISGSR), a successful biennial series of international conferences most recently held in Rotterdam (2015) and Hong Kong (2013). It is also the first time the ISGSR series of international conferences has been hosted in the USA.

Geo-Risk 2017 Committees

Conference Organizing Committee

  • D. Vaughan Griffiths
    Conference Chair
    D. Vaughan Griffiths, Colorado School of Mines
  • Conference Co-Chair
    Gordon A. Fenton, Dalhousie University
  • Jianye Ching, National Taiwan University
  • Paul Cools, Rijkswaterstaat, Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment, The Netherlands
  • Robert Gilbert, UT Austin
  • Jinsong Huang, University of Newcastle, Australia
  • Hsein Juang, Clemson University
  • Suzanne Lacasse, Norwegian Geotechnical Institute
  • Dian-Qing Li, Wuhan University, China
  • Zhe Luo, University of Akron
  • Zenon Medina-Cetina, Texas A&M University
  • Jack Montgomery, Auburn University
  • Shinichi Nishimura, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Kok-Kwang Phoon, National University of Singapore
  • Adrian Rodriguez-Marek, Virginia Tech
  • Brian Simpson, Arup Fellow, UK
  • Daniel Straub, Technical University of Munich, Germany
  • Armin Stuedlein, Oregon State University
  • Limin Zhang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Technical Program Committee

  • Chair
    Jinsong Huang, University of Newcastle, Australia
  • Co-Chair
    Limin Zhang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  • Gordon A. Fenton, Dalhousie University
  • D.Vaughan Griffiths, Colorado School of Mines

Sponsorship and Exhibits

  • Chair
    Armin Stuedlein, Oregon State University

Student Activities

  • Chair
    Zhe Luo, University of Akron
  • Co-Chair
    Jack Montgomery, Auburn University

International Scientific Committee

  • Tony M. Allen, Washington State Department of Transportation
  • Patrick Arnold, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands & University of Manchester, UK
  • Zeynep Aslay, Minerva Design and Consultancy, Turkey
  • Gregory Baecher, University of Maryland
  • Lech Balachowski, Gdansk University of Technology, Poland
  • Jomaa Ben-Hassine, RES Americas
  • Robert Berkelaar, Volker InfraDesign, The Netherlands
  • Sébastien Burlon, IFSTTAR, France
  • Laura Caldeira, LNEC, Portugal
  • Michele Calvello, University of Salerno, Italy
  • Zijun Cao, State Key Laboratory of Water Resources and Hydropower Engineering Science, Wuhan University, China
  • Jiun-Yih Chen, Energo Engineering, Houston, Texas
  • Raymond W.M. Cheung, Geotechnical Engineering Office, Hong Kong
  • Haitham Dawood, Fugro Consultants, Inc.
  • Malcolm Eddleston, MWH, UK
  • Kevin Foye, CTI and Associates, Inc.
  • John France, AECOM
  • Roger Frank, President of ISSMGE, 2013-2017
  • Wenping Gong, Clemson University
  • Takashi Hara, Gifu University, Japan
  • Michael Hicks, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
  • Yusuke Honjo, Gifu Univeristy, Japan
  • Hongwei Huang, Tongji University, Shanghai, China
  • Mark B. Jaksa, The University of Adelaide, Australia
  • Rafael Jimenez, Technical University of Madrid, Spain
  • Ali Johari, Shiraz University of Technology, Iran
  • Celeste Jorge, LNEC, Portugal
  • Ramanujachari Kannan, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
  • Mikhail Kholmyansky, NIIOSP Research Institute, Russia
  • Kristian Krabbenhoft, University of Newcastle & OptumCE, Australia
  • Kerstin Lesny, HafenCity University Hamburg, Germany
  • Jinhui Li, Harbin Institute of Technology, China
  • Zhongqiang Liu, Norwegian Geotechnical Institute, Norway
  • B.K. Low, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Zhe Luo, University of Akron
  • Iacint Manoliu, Technical University of Civil Engineering Bucharest, Romania
  • Sónia H. Marques, Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Universität Hannover-Germany
  • Axel Mollmann, Dr. Spang, Germany
  • Robb Moss, Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, CA
  • Dasaka Murty, IIT Bombay, India
  • Farrokh Nadim, Norwegian Geotechnical Institute, Norway
  • Farzaneh Naghibi, Dalhousie University, Canada
  • Shadi Najjar, American University of Beirut
  • Peter Nicholson, University of Hawaii
  • Lars Olsson, Geostatistik AB, Sweden
  • Trevor L.L. Orr, University of Dublin, Ireland
  • Samuel Paikowsky, University of Massachusetts, Lowell
  • Vincenzo Pane, University of Perugia, Italy
  • Iason Papaioannou, TU München, Germany
  • Widjojo A. Prakoso, University of Indonesia, Indonesia
  • Wojciech Puła, Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland
  • Marco Redaelli, CH2M and University of Leeds, UK
  • Krishna Reddy, University of Illinois, Chicago
  • Lance Roberts, South Dakota School of Mines
  • Rodrigo Salgado, Purdue University
  • Bernd Schuppener, Retired Director, Geotechnical Department of the Federal Waterways Engineering and Research Institute, Germany
  • Timo Schweckendiek, Deltares & Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
  • Kallol Sett, University at Buffalo, State University of New York
  • Nate Snorteland, Director, USACE Risk Management Center
  • Antonio Soriano, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
  • Abdul-Hamid Soubra, Université de Nantes, France
  • Jørgen S. Steenfelt, COWI, Denmark
  • H.W. Sun, Geotechnical Engineering Office, Hong Kong
  • António Topa Gomes, University of Porto, Portugal
  • Baris Trak, Technical Director (ret.), Council of Europe Development Bank, France
  • Marco Uzielli, Georisk Engineering S.r.l, Italy
  • Adriaan J. van Seters, Fugro GeoServices B.V., The Netherlands
  • Erik H. Vanmarcke, Princeton University
  • Giovanna Vessia, University "G. d'Annunzio" of Chieti-Pescara, Italy
  • Nihal Vitharana, Arup Partners, Sydney, Australia
  • Lei Wang, Montana Tech
  • Yu Wang, City University of Hong Kong
  • Tien H. Wu, Ohio State University
  • Gil Lim Yoon, KIOST, S. Korea
  • Ikumasa Yoshida, Tokyo City University, Japan
  • Yuzhen Yu, Tsinghua University, China
  • Chan-Young Yune, Gangneung-Wonju National University, S. Korea
  • Ioannis E. Zevgolis, Democritus University of Thrace, Greece
  • Jie Zhang, Tongji University, Shanghai, China
  • Lulu Zhang, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China
  • Hong Bo Zhou, Management Co., Ltd., Shanghai, China

Grand Hyatt Denver

1750 Welton Street
Denver, CO 80202

Reserve Your Room